Wild Canyon Ranch Wedding Inspiration

 

You guys! I am so excited to share these images with you, for a few reasons:

First, I have always loved film -- back when I used to shoot and develop my own film in college (black and white was my jam!), and then again in the past two years when I've played around with a few different cameras, both 35mm and medium format. I love the way light looks on film — how you can almost see if physically wrapping around a subject. It is both ethereal and tangible at the same time, and at times almost dream-like.

But as much as I love film, I've been afraid. Afraid to shoot only film because what if a roll gets lost on its way to the lab? Or what if I mess up my exposures because I can't immediately see them on the back of the camera and know for certain they are correct? So I've always shot digital at the same time as film.

Until now. When Carrie King asked me to leave my digital camera at home for her film photography workshop at Wild Canyon Ranch, I nervously agreed. And these images represent the first time I've set aside my digital camera completely and focused solely on shooting film!

I just have to say, I am so glad I stepped out of my comfort zone and shot only film! These are quite possibly my favorite images I've ever taken. And although I liked film before, now I am smitten with it and don't think I'll ever stop shooting film.

Special thanks to Carrie King, not only for asking me to conquer my fears, but also for sharing her knowledge and talents so selflessly with us, and for her constant encouragement every step of the way! Also, kudos to Richard Photo Lab for working so tirelessly with me to get my film scans the way I love them. And a huge thank you to the amazing vendors who created ALL the pretty!!! My photos wouldn't have been nearly as beautiful without their incredible planning and bringing this vision to life!

See more from this Wild Canyon Ranch wedding shoot in the full gallery.

 

Workshop / Host & instructor: Carrie King @carriekingphotographer
Venue: Wild Canyon Ranch, Colorado Springs @wildcanyonranch
Planner / Stylist: Sarah Viera Events @sarahvieraevents

Bridal Boutique: anna bé Bridal Boutique, Denver @annabebridal
Gowns: 
Berta Bridal @bertabridal
Monique Lhuillier @moniquelhuillier
Jaclyn Jordan New York @jaclynjordanny

Shoes: Bella Belle Shoes @bellabelleshoes
Menswear: The Black Tux @theblacktux

Paper: Brylo @brylo_wed
Cake: Wildflower Cakes @wildflowercakes
Makeup and hair: Angelina Loren Beauty @angelinaloren.beauty

Rentals: Colorado Party Rentals @copartyrentals
Candles: Creative Candles @creative.candles
Linens: Linen Hero @linenhero

Film Lab: Richard Photo Lab @richardphotolab
Film: Film Supply Club @filmsupplyclub

Michele BlakeEditorial